advertisement
Geography News
June 28, 2023

Top Headlines

Freely Available Risk Model for Hurricanes, Tropical Cyclones

As human-driven climate change amplifies natural disasters, hurricanes and typhoons stand to increase in intensity. Until now, there existed very few freely available computer models designed to estimate the economic costs of such events, but a team of researchers has recently announced the ...

New Research Finds That More Than 90% of Global Aquaculture Faces Substantial Risk from Environmental Change

Many of the world's largest aquatic food producers are highly vulnerable to human-induced environmental change, with some of the highest-risk countries in Asia, Latin America and Africa demonstrating the lowest capacity for adaptation, a landmark ...

Study of Earth's Stratosphere Reduces Uncertainty in Future Climate Change

New research reduces uncertainty in future climate change linked to the stratosphere, with important implications for life on Earth. A significant source of uncertainty relates to future changes to water vapor in the stratosphere, an extremely dry region of the atmosphere 15--50 km above the ...

Study of Deep-Sea Corals Reveals Ocean Currents Have Not Fuelled Rise in Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide

开创性的分析深海珊瑚overturned the idea that ocean currents contributed to increasing global levels of carbon dioxide in the air over the past 11,000 ...
advertisement

Latest Headlines
updated 11:11am EDT

Earlier Headlines

Caribbean Seagrasses Provide Services Worth $255B Annually, Including Vast Carbon Storage, Study Shows

Caribbean seagrasses provide about $255 billion in services to society annually, including $88.3 billion in carbon storage, according to a new study. The study has put a dollar value on the many ...

Scientists Unearth 20 Million Years of 'Hot Spot' Magmatism Under Cocos Plate

A team of scientists has observed past episodic intraplate magmatism and corroborated the existence of a partial melt channel at the base of the Cocos Plate. Situated 60 kilometers beneath the ...

New Study Reveals Irrigation's Mixed Effects Around the World

Trajectory of irrigation water use in many regions is unsustainable, but practice is vital in managing climate change and future agricultural development, researchers ...

Navigating Underground With Cosmic-Ray Muons

Superfast, subatomic-sized particles called muons have been used to wirelessly navigate underground in a reportedly world first. By using muon-detecting ground stations synchronized with an ...

Indirect Effects of the Russia-Ukraine Conflict Revealed: Global Food Supply at Risk

192 countries and 125 different foods: A recent study reveals interdependencies in the global food supply. Here, the researchers have uncovered the profound -- also indirect -- effects of the ...

Change Food Choices to Increase Chances of Tackling Global Warming

Action to protect the planet against the impact of climate change will fall short unless we reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from the global food system, which now makes up a third of human-made ...

How Will a Warming World Impact the Earth's Ability to Offset Our Carbon Emissions?

New work deploys a bold new approach for inferring the temperature sensitivity of ecosystem respiration -- which represents one side of the equation balancing carbon dioxide uptake and carbon dioxide ...

Massive Underwater Plateau Near Solomon Islands Is Younger and Its Eruption Was More Protracted Than Previously Thought

The Ontong Java Plateau, a volcanically-formed underwater plateau located in the Pacific Ocean north of the Solomon Islands, is younger and its eruption was more protracted than previously thought, ...

10-Year Countdown to Sea-Ice-Free Arctic

Research team predicts Arctic without ice by the end of 2030s if current increasing rate of greenhouse gas emission ...

Scientists Discover Urea in Atmosphere Revealing Profound Consequences for Climate

Areas of the ocean that are rich in marine life are having a bigger impact on our ecosystems and the climate than previously thought, new research ...

研究人员发现高危两栖动物如果真菌Pathogen Invades North America

New research indicates the fungal pathogen Batrachochytrium salamandrivorans (Bsal) could be devastating to amphibian biodiversity if introduced to North ...

advertisement

A Machine Learning Approach to Freshwater Analysis

A team of researchers has applied a machine learning model to explore where and to what extent human activities are contributing to the hydrogeochemical changes, such as increases in salinity and ...

热沙塑料微粒的计谋ld Affect Sea Turtle Development

New research has found that extreme concentrations of microplastics could increase the temperature of beach sand enough to threaten the development of incubating sea ...

Eddies: Circular Currents and Their Influence on the World's Hottest Ocean

水from the Pacific Ocean flows into the Indian Ocean via the Indonesia Archipelago thanks to a vast network of currents that act as a conveyor belt, transporting warmth and nutrients. Currents ...

South Africa, India and Australia Shared Similar Volcanic Activity 3.5 Billion Years Ago

The Daitari greenstone belt shares a similar geologic make-up when compared to the greenstones exposed in the Barberton and Nondweni areas of South Africa and those from the Pilbara Craton of ...

Aviation Turbulence Strengthened as the World Warmed

New research shows that clear-air turbulence increased in various regions around the world from 1979 -- ...

Measuring Greenhouse Gas from Ponds Improves Climate Predictions

Shallow lakes and ponds emit significant amounts of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, but emissions from these systems vary considerably and are not well ...

Coral Disease Tripled in the Last 25 Years. Three-Quarters Will Likely Be Diseased by Next Century

Research suggests warming temperatures will see nearly 80 per cent of coral in reefs diseased in the next 80 ...

River Diversions May Cause Microplastics to Remain Longer on Land and in Streams Before Reaching Oceans

Diverting streams and rivers to irrigate crops or provide drinking water may significantly extend the time microplastics spend in river catchments before they flow into our oceans, a new study ...

Whales Not to Be Counted on as 'Climate Savers'

Do whales increase the removal of carbon from the atmosphere? Despite some hope that this would be the case, a new study has found the amount of potential carbon capture by whales is too little to ...

Wednesday, June 21, 2023
Tuesday, June 20, 2023
Thursday, June 15, 2023
Wednesday, June 14, 2023
Tuesday, June 13, 2023
Friday, June 9, 2023
Thursday, June 8, 2023
Wednesday, June 7, 2023
Monday, June 5, 2023
Friday, June 2, 2023
Thursday, June 1, 2023
Wednesday, May 31, 2023
Tuesday, May 30, 2023
Friday, May 26, 2023
Thursday, May 25, 2023
Wednesday, May 24, 2023
Tuesday, May 23, 2023
Monday, May 22, 2023
Friday, May 19, 2023
Thursday, May 18, 2023
Wednesday, May 17, 2023
Tuesday, May 16, 2023
Monday, May 15, 2023
Thursday, May 11, 2023
Wednesday, May 10, 2023
Monday, May 8, 2023
Friday, May 5, 2023
Thursday, May 4, 2023
Wednesday, May 3, 2023
Tuesday, May 2, 2023
Monday, May 1, 2023
Thursday, April 27, 2023
Wednesday, April 26, 2023
Tuesday, April 25, 2023
Monday, April 24, 2023
Friday, April 21, 2023
Thursday, April 20, 2023
Wednesday, April 19, 2023
Tuesday, April 18, 2023
Monday, April 17, 2023
Friday, April 14, 2023
advertisement